All-Time NCAA Tournament Basketball Champions

NCAA Tournament Champions

Year Champion Head Coach Runner-up Final Four Teams
1939 Oregon Howard Hobson Ohio State Oregon, Ohio State, Oklahoma, Villanova
1940 Indiana Branch McCracken Kansas Indiana, Kansas, Duquesne, USC
1941 Wisconsin Bud Foster Washington State Wisconsin, Washington St., Arkansas, Pittsburgh
1942 Stanford Everett Dean Dartmouth Standford, Dartmouth, Colorado, Kentucky
1943 Wyoming Everett Shelton Georgetown Wymoing, Georgetown, DePaul, Texas
1944 Utah Vadal Peterson Dartmouth Utah, Darmouth, Iowa St., Ohio State
1945 Oklahoma A&M Henry Iba NYU Oklahoma A&M, NYU, Arkansas, Ohio State
1946 Oklahoma A&M Henry Iba North Carolina Oklahoma A&M, North Carolina, Ohio St., California
1947 Holy Cross Doggie Julian Oklahoma Holy Cross, Oklahoma, Texas, CCNY
1948 Kentucky Adolph Rupp Baylor Kentucky, Baylor, Holy Cross, Kansas State
1949 Kentucky Adolph Rupp Oklahoma A&M Kentucky, Oklahoma A&M, Illinois, Oregon St.
1950 CCNY Nat Holman Bradley CCNY, Bradley, North Carolina St, Baylor
1951 Kentucky Adolph Rupp Kansas State Kentucky, Kansas St., Illinois, Oregon State
1952 Kansas Phog Allen St. John's Kansas, St. John's, Illinois, Santa Clara
1953 Indiana Branch McCracken Kansas Indiana, Kansas, Washington, LSU
1954 La Salle Ken Loeffler Bradley La Salle, Bradley, Penn State, USC
1955 San Francisco Phil Woolpert La Salle San Francisco, La Salle, Colorado, Iowa
1956 San Francisco Phil Woolpert Iowa San Francisco, Iowa, Temple, SMU
1957 North Carolina Frank McGuire Kansas North Carolina, Kansas, San Francisco, Michigan State
1958 Kentucky Adolph Rupp Seattle Kentucky, Seattle, Temple, Kansas State
1959 California Pete Newell West Virginia California, West Virginia, Cincinnati, Louisville
1960 Ohio State Fred Taylor California Ohio State, California, Cincinnati, NYU
1961 Cincinnati Ed Jucker Ohio State Cincinnati, Ohio State, St. Joseph's*, Utah
1962 Cincinnati Ed Jucker Ohio State Cincinnati, Ohio State, Wake Forest, UCLA
1963 Loyola (Chicago) George Ireland Cincinnati Loyola (Chicago), Cincinnati, Duke, Oregon State
1964 UCLA John Wooden Duke UCLA, Duke, Michigan, Kansas State
1965 UCLA John Wooden Michigan UCLA, Michigan, Princeton, Wichita State
1966 Texas Western Don Haskins Kentucky Texas Western, Kentucky, Duke, Utah
1967 UCLA John Wooden Dayton UCLA, Dayton, Houston, North Carolina
1968 UCLA John Wooden North Carolina UCLA, North Carolina, Ohio State, Houston
1969 UCLA John Wooden Purdue UCLA, Purdue, Drake, North Carolina
1970 UCLA John Wooden Jacksonville UCLA, Jackson, Nex Mexico State, St. Bonaventure
1971 UCLA John Wooden Villanova UCLA, Villanova*, Western Kentucky*, Kansas
1972 UCLA John Wooden Florida State UCLA, Florida State, North Carolina, Louisville
1973 UCLA John Wooden Memphis State UCLA, Memphis State, Indiana, Providence
1974 North Carolina State Norm Sloan Marquette North Carolina State, Marquette, UCLA, Kansas
1975 UCLA John Wooden Kentucky UCLA, Kentucky, Louisville, Syracuse
1976 Indiana Bob Knight Michigan Indiana, Michigan, UCLA, Rutgers
1977 Marquette Al McGuire North Carolina Marquette, North Carolina, UNLV, Charlotte
1978 Kentucky Joe B. Hall Duke Kentucky, Duke, Arkansas, Notre Dame
1979 Michigan State Jud Heathcote Indiana State Michigan State, Indiana State, DePaul, Pennsylvania
1980 Louisville Denny Crum UCLA Louisville, UCLA, Purdue, Iowa
1981 Indiana Bob Knight North Carolina Indiana, North Carolina, Virginia, LSU
1982 North Carolina Dean Smith Georgetown North Carolina, Georgetown, Louisville, Houston
1983 North Carolina State Jim Valvano Houston North Carolina State, Houston, Louisville, Georgia
1984 Georgetown John Thompson Houston Georgetown, Houston, Kentucky, Virginia
1985 Villanova Rollie Massimino Georgetown Villanova, Georgetown, Memphis State, St. John's
1986 Louisville Denny Crum Duke Louisville, Duke, Kansas, LSU
1987 Indiana Bob Knight Syracuse Indiana, Syracuse, UNLV, Providence
1988 Kansas Larry Brown Oklahoma Kansas, Oklahoma, Duke, Arizona
1989 Michigan Steve Fisher Seton Hall Michigan, Seton Hall, Illinoi, Duke
1990 UNLV Jerry Tarkanian Duke UNLV, Duke, Arkansas, Georgia Tech
1991 Duke Mike Krzyzewski Kansas Duke, Kanas, North Carolina, UNLV
1992 Duke Mike Krzyzewski Michigan Duke, Michigan*, Indiana, Cincinnati
1993 North Carolina Dean Smith Michigan North Carolina, Michigan*, Kentucky, Kansas
1994 Arkansas Nolan Richardson Duke Arkansas, Duke, Arizona, Florida
1995 UCLA Jim Harrick Arkansas UCLA, Arkansas, North Carolina, Oklahoma State
1996 Kentucky Rick Pitino Syracuse Kentucky, Syracuse, Massachusetts*, Mississippi State
1997 Arizona Lute Olson Kentucky Arizona, Kentucky, Minnesota*, North Carolina
1998 Kentucky Tubby Smith Utah Kentucky, Utah, North Carolina, Stanford
1999 Connecticut Jim Calhoun Duke Connecticut, Duke, Michigan State, Ohio State*
2000 Michigan State Tom Izzo Florida Michigan State, Florida, North Carolina, Wisconsin
2001 Duke Mike Krzyzewski Arizona Duke, Arizona, Michigan State, Maryland
2002 Maryland Gary Williams Indiana Maryland, Indiana, Kansas, Oklahoma
2003 Syracuse Jim Boeheim Kansas Syracuse, Kansas, Texas, Marquette
2004 Connecticut Jim Calhoun Georgia Tech Connecticut, Georgia Tech, Duke, Oklahoma State
2005 North Carolina Roy Williams Illinois North Carolina, Illinois, Louisville, Michigan State
2006 Florida Billy Donovan UCLA Florida, UCLA, LSU, George Mason
2007 Florida Billy Donovan Ohio State Florida, Ohio State, UCLA, Georgetown
2008 Kansas Bill Self Memphis Kansas, Memphis*, UCLA, North Carolina
2009 North Carolina Roy Williams Michigan State North Carolina, Michigan State, Connecticut, Villanova
2010 Duke Mike Krzyzewski Butler Duke, Butler, Michigan, State, West Virginia
2011 Connecticut Jim Calhoun Butler Connecticut, Butler, Kentucky, VCU

New! Facebook Comments

Leave a comment about this article in the box below and share it with your Facebook friends.

What do you think?

We'd love to hear your comments and/or opinions. If you submit them here, other visitors can read them, rate them and comment on them. An e-mail address is not required.

Top of This Page