## College Football Hall of Famers Selected First in the Annual Player Draft, Since 1936©

By Tex Noel, Executive Director, Intercollegiate Football Researchers Association

The 76<sup>th</sup> annual NFL College Draft will be conduct in a few days; and there is still many pundits trying to figure-out which outstanding player of a year ago will join the previously selected collegiate stars from previous drafts.

Of the players selected overall since Chicago back Jay Berwanger was the first in 1936; 31 are also members of the College Football Hall of Fame. Add an additional four players taken in the annual AFL Draft, 1960-69 (with a fifth one selected by an AFL Team in the initial "Common Draft" in 1967) you see a select group of former college talent being honor the following year by pro teams.

Of the 31 players taken by a NFL team, including 14 of the 16 drafts was a "record" 12 players selected from year three—1939—when TCU center, Ki Aldrich was selected through the 1951 draft when another Texan, SMU's Kyle Rote taken.

Included in this streak was every player during the decade of the 1940s being a future member of the College Football Hall Fame.

LSU's famed Billy Cannon, in the 1960 Draft, was the 25<sup>th</sup> player to go in the opening round; with UCLA Quarterback Troy Aikman being the most recent in 1989.

In the 1940 Draft, Tennessee's George Cafego, became the first of five players from an SEC school to be the Overall No. 1 selection. With the selection of George Rogers in 1981, South Carolina—a SEC member since 1992—made it 6 players taken.

## Former SEC players selected First Overall in the Annual NFL Draft

- 1943 George Cafego Tennessee B
- 1943 Frank Sinkwich Georgia RB
- 1948 Harry Gilmer Alabama QB
- 1960 Billy Cannon Louisiana State RB
- 1986 Bo Jackson Auburn RB
- 1981 George Rogers South Carolina RB

## College Football Hall of Famers Selected First Overall in the Annual NFL and AFL Drafts

1936 Jay Berwanger Chicago B 1950 Leon Hart Notre Dame E
--

1937	Sam Francis	Nebraska	В	1951	Kyle Rote	S MU	В
1939	Ki Aldrich	Texas Christian	С	1957	Paul Hornung	Notre Dame	RB
1940	George Cafego	Tennessee	В	1960	Billy Cannon	Louisiana State	RB
1941	Tom Harmon	Michigan	В	1962	Ernie Davis	Syracuse	RB
1942	Bill Dudley	Virginia	В	Roman	Gabriel North C	Carolina St	QB*
1943	Frank Sinkwich	Georgia	RB	1963	Buck Buchanan	Grambling	T*
1944	Angelo Bertelli	Notre Dame	QB	1966	Tommy Nobis	Texas	LB
1945	Charley Trippi	Georgia	В	1966	Jim Grabowski	Illinois	FB*
1947	Bob Fenimore	Oklahoma State	е В	1967	Bubba Smith	Michigan State	DT
1948	Harry Gilmer	Alabama	QB	Bob Gri	ese	Purdue	QB*
1949	Chuck Bednarik	Pennsylvania	С	1968	Ron Yary	USC	Т

1969	O.J. Simpson	USC	RB
1970	Terry Bradshaw	Louisiana Tech	QB
1971	Jim Plunkett	Stanford	QB
1976	Lee Roy Selmor	Oklahoma	DE
1977	Ricky Bell	USC	RB
1978	Earl Campbell	Texas	RB
1980	Billy Sims	Oklahoma	RB
1981	George Rogers	South Carolina	RB
1983	John Elway	Stanford	QB
1986	Bo Jackson	Auburn	RB
1989	Troy Aikman	UCLA	QB
*AFL [	Draft		